Stripe in South Africa: is it available, and how to get paid
Not directly. Stripe lists South Africa in its Extended network, which sends businesses there to Paystack instead of a Stripe sign-up. Of the merchants of record we checked, Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments pay out to founders in South Africa. For local customers, Paystack, Yoco and Payfast take payments in ZAR.
Global options for founders in South Africa
| Provider | What it is | For South Africa | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | payment processor | Via partner | Marked Extended network; the country links to paystack.com/stripe/south-africa instead of Stripe sign-up | stripe.com |
| Stripe Atlas | US company formation | Yes | No founder-country exclusion found; Atlas terms only name Prohibited Jurisdictions (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea), none of which is this country | stripe.com |
| Paddle | merchant of record | Yes | Not on Paddle's unsupported seller countries list | paddle.com |
| Lemon Squeezy | merchant of record | Yes | On the bank payout list (PayPal payouts also offered) | docs.lemonsqueezy.com |
| Polar | merchant of record | Yes | On Polar's payout countries list | polar.sh |
| Dodo Payments | merchant of record | Yes | On the accepted countries list. Eligibility follows the country that issued your government ID (and every director's and owner's ID) | docs.dodopayments.com |
| Wise Business | business account | Yes | On the list with no business-account restriction noted, so a business there can hold money and get account details to receive | wise.com |
| PayPal | wallet | Yes | Country site offers Send & Request payments and a Business menu with Accept Payments | paypal.com |
Local gateways in South Africa
| Gateway | Takes | Fee | Who can sign up | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paystack | Cards and EFT; international cards including American Express, settled in ZAR | Local cards: 2.9% + R1.00, VAT exclusive. EFT: 2%. International cards: 3.1% + R1.00, VAT exclusive (another Paystack help article lists 2.9% + R1.00). | Sole proprietors can sign up as a Starter Business (collection limit ZAR 1,000,000); a Registered Business has no collection limit. | support.paystack.com |
| Yoco | Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay through payment links, invoices and a website gateway (Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix and others) | 2.55 to 2.95% per online transaction, excluding VAT, with no monthly fee. No separate online rate for international cards is published. | Not stated | yoco.com |
| Payfast | Credit and cheque cards, Instant EFT, Capitec Pay, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, SnapScan, Zapper, Scan to Pay, store cards and buy-now-pay-later options | Cards: 3.2% + R2.00 per transaction; Instant EFT and Capitec Pay: 2% (min R2.00). All ex VAT. Payouts cost R8.70 ex VAT each. No separate international card rate is published. | Not stated | payfast.io |
Worth knowing in South Africa
| What | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Local rail | PayShap is South Africa's instant interbank payment service, offered through participating banks. | payshap.co.za |
| Foreign card settlement | Paystack settles international card payments to South African businesses in ZAR, with the customer's bank doing the currency conversion. | support.paystack.com |
Fees on the global options
| Provider | Headline fee | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card transaction (US pricing page; currency not named) | stripe.com |
| Stripe Atlas | $500 one-time setup fee including government fees and the first year of registered agent, then $100 a year (currency not named) | stripe.com |
| Paddle | 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction (currency not named) | paddle.com |
| Lemon Squeezy | 5% + 50¢ per transaction (currency not named); small extra fees can apply in edge cases | lemonsqueezy.com |
| Polar | 5% + 50¢ per transaction on the free Starter plan for organisations created on or after 27 May 2026, plus 1.5% for non-US cards (currency not named) | polar.sh |
| Dodo Payments | 4% + 40¢ per transaction, plus 1.5% for cards and payment methods outside the US (currency not named) | dodopayments.com |
| PayPal | US rates: 2.99% + fixed fee for card payments, 3.49% + fixed fee for PayPal Checkout; sellers in other countries pay their country's rates | paypal.com |
Questions about getting paid in South Africa
- Is Stripe available in South Africa?
- Not directly. Stripe lists South Africa in its Extended network, which sends businesses there to Paystack instead of a Stripe sign-up. Checked on Stripe's global availability page on 27 October 2026.
- What can I use instead of Stripe in South Africa?
- To sell software or digital products worldwide, a merchant of record that pays out to South Africa: Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments. To take payments from local customers, local gateways such as Paystack, Yoco and Payfast.
- Which merchants of record pay out to South Africa?
- Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments.
- How much does Paystack charge?
- Local cards: 2.9% + R1.00, VAT exclusive. EFT: 2%. International cards: 3.1% + R1.00, VAT exclusive (another Paystack help article lists 2.9% + R1.00). That's as published on support.paystack.com. Who can sign up: Sole proprietors can sign up as a Starter Business (collection limit ZAR 1,000,000); a Registered Business has no collection limit.
- Can I receive PayPal payments in South Africa?
- Yes. Country site offers Send & Request payments and a Business menu with Accept Payments.
- Can I use Stripe Atlas from South Africa?
- Yes. No founder-country exclusion found; Atlas terms only name Prohibited Jurisdictions (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea), none of which is South Africa.
Other countries
Argentina · Bangladesh · Colombia · Egypt · Georgia · Ghana · India · Indonesia · Kenya · Morocco · Nepal · Nigeria · Pakistan · Peru · Philippines · Sri Lanka · Turkey · Ukraine · Vietnam
To choose between a merchant of record, a US company and a local gateway, read Stripe not available in my country.
- Stripe
- Via partner
- Currency
- ZAR (South African rand)
- Merchants of record paying out
- 4 of 4
- Checked
Providers change their country lists and fees. Check each provider's own page before you sign up. Spotted something out of date? Tell us in the members' chat.