Stripe in India: is it available, and how to get paid
Not openly. Stripe marks India as Preview, so access goes through its sales team rather than open sign-up. Of the merchants of record we checked, Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments pay out to founders in India. For local customers, Razorpay, Cashfree Payments and PayU India take payments in INR.
Global options for founders in India
| Provider | What it is | For India | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | payment processor | Preview | Marked Preview; the country links to Stripe's contact sales page rather than sign-up | stripe.com |
| Stripe Atlas | US company formation | Yes | No founder-country exclusion found; Atlas terms only name Prohibited Jurisdictions (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea), none of which is this country | stripe.com |
| Paddle | merchant of record | Yes | Not on Paddle's unsupported seller countries list | paddle.com |
| Lemon Squeezy | merchant of record | Limited | Bank payouts only with a Stripe account pre-approved by Stripe; otherwise PayPal payouts | docs.lemonsqueezy.com |
| Polar | merchant of record | Yes | On Polar's payout countries list | polar.sh |
| Dodo Payments | merchant of record | Yes | On the accepted countries list. Eligibility follows the country that issued your government ID (and every director's and owner's ID) | docs.dodopayments.com |
| Wise Business | business account | Yes | Indian businesses get account details in 24 currencies; Wise converts incoming money to INR and sends it to your verified Indian bank account | wise.com |
| PayPal | wallet | Yes | Country site offers Send & Request payments and a Business menu with Accept Payments | paypal.com |
Local gateways in India
| Gateway | Takes | Fee | Who can sign up | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Razorpay | Debit and credit cards (including international cards), UPI, netbanking, wallets, card and cardless EMI, pay later | 2% per successful transaction plus GST on the standard plan; international cards are up to 3%. Razorpay also advertises 0% for the first 90 days for new accounts. | Open to freelancers and individual professionals as well as companies | razorpay.com |
| Cashfree Payments | UPI, Visa, Mastercard, RuPay, Maestro, Amex, Diners, wallets (PhonePe, Amazon Pay, JioMoney, Airtel Payments), bank transfer, EMI, pay later, international cards | Standard platform fee 1.95% plus taxes on domestic payments; international Visa and Mastercard 2.99%. A limited-time 0% offer for new merchants applies to sales up to INR 20 lakh (offer listed until 31 March 2027). | Not stated | cashfree.com |
| PayU India | Cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, EMI, BNPL (150+ methods) | 2% for domestic cards, net banking, wallets and BNPL; 3% for international cards, EMI, Amex and Diners. GST extra. | Not stated | payu.in |
Worth knowing in India
| What | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| UPI pricing | Bank-to-bank UPI payments carry zero MDR, but gateways still charge their own platform fee (Razorpay says 2%). | razorpay.com |
| Cross-border licence | Indian gateways need a separate RBI cross-border licence (PA-CB) to collect from overseas buyers; Razorpay says it holds one. | razorpay.com |
Fees on the global options
| Provider | Headline fee | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card transaction (US pricing page; currency not named) | stripe.com |
| Stripe Atlas | $500 one-time setup fee including government fees and the first year of registered agent, then $100 a year (currency not named) | stripe.com |
| Paddle | 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction (currency not named) | paddle.com |
| Lemon Squeezy | 5% + 50¢ per transaction (currency not named); small extra fees can apply in edge cases | lemonsqueezy.com |
| Polar | 5% + 50¢ per transaction on the free Starter plan for organisations created on or after 27 May 2026, plus 1.5% for non-US cards (currency not named) | polar.sh |
| Dodo Payments | 4% + 40¢ per transaction, plus 1.5% for cards and payment methods outside the US (currency not named) | dodopayments.com |
| PayPal | US rates: 2.99% + fixed fee for card payments, 3.49% + fixed fee for PayPal Checkout; sellers in other countries pay their country's rates | paypal.com |
Questions about getting paid in India
- Is Stripe available in India?
- Not openly. Stripe marks India as Preview, so access goes through its sales team rather than open sign-up. Checked on Stripe's global availability page on 27 October 2026.
- What can I use instead of Stripe in India?
- To sell software or digital products worldwide, a merchant of record that pays out to India: Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments. To take payments from local customers, local gateways such as Razorpay, Cashfree Payments and PayU India.
- Which merchants of record pay out to India?
- Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo Payments.
- How much does Razorpay charge?
- 2% per successful transaction plus GST on the standard plan; international cards are up to 3%. Razorpay also advertises 0% for the first 90 days for new accounts. That's as published on razorpay.com. Who can sign up: Open to freelancers and individual professionals as well as companies.
- Can I receive PayPal payments in India?
- Yes. Country site offers Send & Request payments and a Business menu with Accept Payments.
- Can I use Stripe Atlas from India?
- Yes. No founder-country exclusion found; Atlas terms only name Prohibited Jurisdictions (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea), none of which is India.
Other countries
Argentina · Bangladesh · Colombia · Egypt · Georgia · Ghana · Indonesia · Kenya · Morocco · Nepal · Nigeria · Pakistan · Peru · Philippines · South Africa · Sri Lanka · Turkey · Ukraine · Vietnam
To choose between a merchant of record, a US company and a local gateway, read Stripe not available in my country.
- Stripe
- Preview
- Currency
- INR (Indian rupee)
- Merchants of record paying out
- 4 of 4
- Checked
Providers change their country lists and fees. Check each provider's own page before you sign up. Spotted something out of date? Tell us in the members' chat.