Melbourne for remote founders: visas, coworking and founder meetups (2026)
Melbourne for remote founders: which Australian visas fit, the closed BIIP, coworking prices from A$50 a day, monthly founder meetups and the tax residency test.
Key takeaways
- The NSW Government says the Business Innovation and Investment Program (BIIP) is closed as of 31 July 2024 and Home Affairs is no longer accepting new applications, so a non-Australian founder can't use it to move to Melbourne (checked 27 Oct 2026).
- The National Innovation visa (subclass 858) is a permanent visa for people with an internationally recognised record of outstanding achievement; it's invitation-only, needs an eligible nominator, and entrepreneurs are one of the state nomination categories (NSW and South Australian government pages, checked 27 Oct 2026).
- Tourism Australia says the ETA (subclass 601) and the free eVisitor (subclass 651) cover visits of up to three months at a time over 12 months, and the eVisitor covers tourism or business purposes. Neither is described as a work visa (checked 27 Oct 2026).
- Melbourne coworking checked on 26 Oct 2026 runs from a A$50 day pass at The Cluster to A$69 excluding GST at Hub Australia, with monthly options from A$190 (Inspire9 flexible) to A$290 plus GST (Stone & Chalk flexible desk).
- Founders Unfiltered at Stone & Chalk runs monthly and the AI Ops Melbourne meetup meets on the first Wednesday of every month, while Startup Grind Melbourne's Meetup page shows no event since 12 December 2023 (checked 26 Oct 2026).
- Melbourne is on AEDT (UTC+11) until 4 April 2027, so from 1 November 2026 it's 16 hours ahead of New York, 10 hours ahead of Berlin and 3 hours ahead of Singapore.
Melbourne suits Australian founders who want a big startup scene, and visiting founders who sell to customers elsewhere and can work within a visitor's stay. Coworking day passes start at A$50, and there's a monthly fireside chat, a monthly AI meetup and regular pitch nights to plug into. The two catches are cost and, for non-Australians, visas: there's no visa built for remote founders, the business investment route has closed, and visitor visas are for stays of up to three months at a time. Everything below was checked on 26 or 27 October 2026 against the official, venue or group page linked next to it.
Visas and residency routes a founder would actually use
If you're Australian, you can skip this section. If you're not, the honest answer is that most founders come on a visitor visa for up to three months at a time, and very few have a long-term route. The Department of Home Affairs pages wouldn't load for us when we checked, so this section quotes state government and Tourism Australia pages instead, and leaves out fees we couldn't confirm. Check the Home Affairs page for your visa before you apply.
The business investment route has closed
The Business Innovation and Investment visa used to be the obvious founder route. Not any more. The NSW Government's business and investor visas page says the Business Innovation and Investment Program (BIIP) is closed as of 31 July 2024, and that Home Affairs is no longer accepting new applications for it.
National Innovation visa (subclass 858)
This is the permanent route for people with an outstanding record. The NSW Government's National Innovation Visa common questions describe it as a permanent visa for exceptionally talented people, and South Australia's National Innovation Visa page calls it an invitation-only permanent visa for established and emerging leaders.
- Who qualifies. South Australia says you need an internationally recognised record of outstanding achievement in a profession, a sport, the arts, or academia and research.
- A nominator. Both pages say you need an eligible nominator. States can nominate, and entrepreneurs are one of the nomination categories in both NSW and South Australia.
- How it runs. You register interest with the state first. NSW says that if it approves you, it sends you a Form 1000 to complete, and you include its letter and that form with your Expression of Interest (EOI) to Home Affairs. If you're invited, you pay the visa application fee to Home Affairs.
- Age. South Australia says you can be any age, but if you're under 18 or 55 or older you must be of exceptional benefit to the Australian community.
It's a high bar. A typical bootstrapped founder won't clear it on revenue alone, so read the achievement tests before you spend money on an application. Each state runs its own nomination process, so check the one where you plan to live.
Visitor and working holiday visas
Most visiting founders will use one of these. Which one depends on your passport. Tourism Australia's visa and entry FAQs describe them like this:
- Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601). For passport holders from a number of countries and regions who live outside Australia. You can visit as many times as you want for up to a year, staying three months each visit.
- eVisitor (subclass 651). Free, for passport holders from a number of European countries, for tourism or business visits of up to three months at a time within a 12-month period. It can't be extended.
- Visitor visa (subclass 600). Open to all nationalities, for tourism or business, with a fee to apply. Generally up to three months, but up to 12 months in certain circumstances.
- Working holiday visas. For people under 30 (or 35 in certain cases) with a passport from a participating country. Valid for one year, or up to three years if you meet certain conditions.
Tourism Australia says it isn't the visa-granting authority and points you to Home Affairs, so treat this as a starting point. None of these is described as a work visa, and the pages don't address answering emails for your own overseas company while you're here. If you plan a long or repeated stay built around work, read the Home Affairs page for your visa and get advice first.
| Route | Who it suits | Cost on the page we checked | Stay | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BIIP (188) | Nobody new | Closed since 31 July 2024 | n/a | NSW Government |
| National Innovation (858) | Founders with an outstanding international record | Paid to Home Affairs (not loaded) | Permanent | NSW and SA governments |
| ETA (601) | Eligible passports, short trips | Not stated | Up to 3 months per visit | Tourism Australia |
| eVisitor (651) | Listed European passports | Free | Up to 3 months at a time | Tourism Australia |
| Visitor (600) | All nationalities | A fee applies | Generally up to 3 months | Tourism Australia |
| Working holiday | Under 30 (35 in certain cases) | Not stated | 1 year, up to 3 with conditions | Tourism Australia |
For how Australia compares with countries that do offer nomad or startup visas, see our digital nomad visas guide and the startup visas guide.
Where founders work
Melbourne's coworking is concentrated in the CBD, with strong inner-suburb options in Richmond, Cremorne and Collingwood. These spaces were checked on their own sites on 26 October 2026 (prices in Australian dollars):
| Space | Area | Day pass | Monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Commons | CBD (55 Collins St, QV) plus Collingwood, Cremorne, South Melbourne, South Yarra | $50 extra day passes on On-Demand | On-Demand $80 with 2 day passes; coworking price on request |
| Hub Australia | Melbourne sites incl. 555 Collins ExChange, Southern Cross, St Kilda Road | $69 excl GST | Price on request |
| Inspire9 | Richmond | $55 | Flexible from $190 |
| The Cluster | CBD, with St Kilda access | $50 | Part-time hot desk $400; dedicated desk $650 |
| WeWork | 120 Spencer St, 152 Elizabeth St, 222 Exhibition St | From A$60 | From A$289 (shown against A$339) |
| Stone & Chalk | 121 King St, CBD | Not listed | Flexible desk $290 plus GST per person |
A few notes from the pages themselves:
- The Commons lists no coworking prices, only an enquiry form. Its On-Demand membership is $80 a month plus add-ons, includes two day passes a month, and lets you buy more for $50 a day in its app. The page doesn't say whether that includes GST.
- Hub Australia charges $69 excluding GST for a day pass at its Melbourne sites. When checked, code DAYPASS49 gave a $49 day pass if redeemed before 31 October 2026.
- Inspire9's coworking page lists flexible workspaces from $190 a month and dedicated workspaces from $630. Its homepage FAQ quotes slightly different figures, so confirm the rate when you sign up.
- The Cluster's day pass and part-time hot desk run 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM. The $650 dedicated desk includes 24/7 access.
- WeWork shows coworking membership "from A$339/mo A$289/mo" at all three buildings and day passes "from A$60/day".
- Stone & Chalk also lists a fixed desk at $625 plus GST per person a month. It's the most startup-focused option, and it hosts the Founders Unfiltered series below.
Several pages don't say whether prices include GST, so ask before you commit. Pick by where you'll live: the CBD spaces suit anyone on a tram or train line into town, and Inspire9 suits Richmond and Cremorne.
Where founders meet
Melbourne has plenty of startup events, but many big Meetup groups have gone quiet. These had events listed on their own pages when checked on 26 October 2026:
- Founders Unfiltered at the Stone & Chalk Melbourne Startup Hub, 121 King St. Its Luma page calls it a "flagship fireside chat series" where "each month, one founder" talks through their decisions and failures. It runs at lunchtime, 1.00pm to 2.30pm, with networking first.
- The Startup Network shows 10,980 members on Meetup. It ran an Open Competition Pitch Night at The Commons QV on Tuesday 29 September and listed a Health & Well Being Pitch Night for Tuesday 27 October 2026 at 3 Albert Coates Lane. Tickets are required. Good if you want to see local founders pitch.
- AI Ops, Melbourne Meetup says "We meet on the first Wednesday of every month" at a cocktail bar in the CBD. Its eighth event, AIO-008, ran on Wednesday 7 October 2026 from 6:00 pm, with a waitlist. The best fit if you're building with AI agents.
- Startup Networking & Founder Ecosystem, Melbourne shows 771 members. It runs Friday 6:00 PM mixers at the Duke of Wellington, 146 Flinders St, with events on 25 September and listed for 13 and 27 November.
- Melbourne Startup Founders & Tech Professionals shows 724 members and runs an online "Find a Cofounder" session on Friday mornings, most recently 23 October and next listed for 27 November. Useful if you're looking for a co-founder, but it's online.
Cremorne Digital Hub at 80 Balmain St also runs founder events, such as The Venture Debate, which appear on Luma's Melbourne page. For the wider calendar, LaunchVic's events page points to the ANZ Startup Events Calendar and lists its annual Victorian Startup Gala, which last ran on Thursday 11 June 2026.
Some well-known names look inactive. Startup Grind Melbourne still shows 3,577 members, but its last event was on 12 December 2023. The old Melbourne Silicon Beach Meetup address now opens Technovator Melbourne, which shows 13,576 members, no upcoming events and a note that its future event program is being reviewed. Its last listed event was on 22 November 2025. Indie Hackers Melbourne (399 members) held social drinks at the Imperial Hotel through to 25 March but lists nothing since. AI Tinkerers Melbourne shows one recent event, a hackathon on 10 December 2025.
If you can't find your people in person, our guide to communities for remote founders covers online groups you can join before you land.
Business basics
The short version: Australians can register an ABN and bank as normal. Visitors should keep their company and bank account at home and count their days.
ABN and company registration
An Australian Business Number (ABN) identifies your business to government and other businesses. business.gov.au says "Not everyone needs an ABN. To get one you need to be running a business or other enterprise." It's free to register through the Australian Business Register (ABR). We couldn't load the ABR's own entitlement page when we checked, so use its eligibility checker before you apply, especially if you're not an Australian resident.
Banking and getting paid
Newcomers on a longer visa can open a bank account before they land. CommBank's Moving to Australia page says you can open an account up to 14 days before you arrive or within 12 months after arriving. You then show your original passport at a branch within 20 days, or the account may close. Until your ID is verified at a branch in Australia, you can't deposit money or make purchases. The same page says CommBank is "unable to accept visitor visas under subclass 600, 601 or 651".
So if you're here on a visitor visa, keep your home business account or a multi-currency account and keep invoicing from your own company. Our guide to business accounts for remote founders compares the options.
Tax residency
The test is in the law itself. Section 6(1) of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 (compilation of 1 October 2026) defines a resident as a person who resides in Australia, and includes a person:
- whose domicile is in Australia, unless the Commissioner is satisfied their permanent place of abode is outside Australia
- who has actually been in Australia, continuously or intermittently, during more than one-half of the year of income, unless the Commissioner is satisfied their usual place of abode is outside Australia and they don't intend to take up residence in Australia
- who is one of certain superannuation scheme members or eligible employees, or their spouse or child under 16.
The ATO explains how it applies these tests on its residency pages, but they wouldn't load for us when we checked, so we haven't quoted them. A visa decides whether you can stay, not where you pay tax. Read our tax residency guide and talk to an adviser in both countries before a long stay.
Time zones
Melbourne is on Australian Eastern Daylight Time, UTC+11, until clocks go back on 4 April 2027, then UTC+10 until 3 October 2027. That's the widest gap Melbourne has with the US and Europe.
- US Eastern: New York moves from UTC-4 to UTC-5 on 1 November 2026, putting Melbourne 16 hours ahead. 4 PM in New York is 8 AM the next day in Melbourne, so you get a thin overlap: their late afternoon, your early morning.
- US Pacific: Los Angeles goes to UTC-8 on 1 November 2026, putting Melbourne 19 hours ahead. 2 PM in Los Angeles is 9 AM the next day in Melbourne, which is the best US overlap you'll get.
- Central Europe: Berlin is on UTC+1 since 25 October 2026, 10 hours behind Melbourne. 9 AM in Berlin is 7 PM in Melbourne, so European calls land in your evening. After Berlin's clocks go forward on 28 March 2027 the gap is 9 hours, and after 4 April 2027 it's 8.
- Singapore: UTC+8 with no daylight saving, 3 hours behind Melbourne. 9 AM in Singapore is midday in Melbourne, so most of the working day overlaps. From 4 April 2027 it's 2 hours.
If your customers are in Europe or the US East Coast, expect early mornings or late nights. Our guide to running a team across time zones has meeting patterns that work.
Monthly cost band
Melbourne isn't cheap. Numbeo's crowd-sourced data puts a single person's monthly costs at about A$1,725.5, excluding rent. A one-bedroom apartment averages A$2,468.17 a month in the city centre and A$2,017.84 outside it. The Numbeo page was last updated on 26 October 2026 and draws on 1,505 entries from 225 contributors in the past 12 months. Treat it as a rough guide, not a budget.
Add a coworking membership of A$190 to A$400 a month from the table above, and you have a working estimate of roughly A$3,900 to A$4,600 a month before travel, insurance and visa costs. If that's too much, a cheaper base may suit the build phase better.
Common mistakes
- Planning around the BIIP. The NSW Government says the program closed on 31 July 2024. Don't pay anyone to prepare a new application.
- Treating a visitor visa as a work visa. Tourism Australia describes the ETA, eVisitor and Visitor visa as visas for tourism or business visits and doesn't describe any of them as a work visa. Read the Home Affairs page for your visa before you plan a working stay.
- Overstaying the 3-month visit. ETA and eVisitor holders can stay up to three months at a time, so plan your exits.
- Expecting to open a local account on a visitor visa. CommBank's newcomer account doesn't accept subclass 600, 601 or 651 visas.
- Losing count of days. The tax law looks at more than one-half of the year of income, alongside where you live and your domicile. Track your days from the start.
- Trusting big Meetup numbers. Startup Grind Melbourne and Technovator Melbourne show thousands of members but no upcoming events. Check the event dates, not the member count.
Bring Remote Builders to Melbourne
Remote Builders runs city chapters: monthly nights for people building businesses remotely, each run by a member who lives in the city. Bali Startup & Tech in Canggu is chapter one. No city outside Bali has a chapter yet, Melbourne included. A chapter opens when a member who lives there applies to host and runs a first event, so if you're based in Melbourne, apply to host or read more on the chapters page.
To meet other remote founders before you land, join Remote Builders (it's free).
General information, checked on 26 and 27 October 2026, not legal or tax advice. Visa and tax rules change, so confirm with the official source or a qualified adviser before you act.
Questions people ask
- Is Melbourne good for remote founders?
- Yes for Australians and for visitors who sell to customers elsewhere and want a big startup scene with something on most weeks. The catches are cost and visas: Numbeo's crowd-sourced data puts a one-bedroom city flat at about A$2,468 a month, and non-Australians have no visa built for remote founders. Most visitors come on an ETA, eVisitor or Visitor visa, which Tourism Australia describes as visas for stays of up to three months at a time.
- Is the Business Innovation and Investment visa still open?
- No. The NSW Government's business and investor visas page says the Business Innovation and Investment Program (BIIP) is closed as of 31 July 2024 and that Home Affairs is no longer accepting new applications. Founders with an exceptional track record can look at the National Innovation visa (subclass 858) instead.
- Can I work remotely from Melbourne on an ETA or eVisitor?
- We couldn't load the Home Affairs visa pages when we checked, so we can't quote their rules on business activity. Tourism Australia describes the eVisitor as a visa for tourism or business purposes and doesn't describe either visa as a work visa. Read the Home Affairs page for your visa and get advice before you plan a long stay around remote work.
- How do you get the National Innovation visa?
- It's invitation-only. You need an eligible nominator, and if you go through a state, you register interest with that state first. The NSW Government says that after it approves you, you include its letter and the Form 1000 with your Expression of Interest to Home Affairs. The visa application fee is paid to Home Affairs, whose fee page we couldn't load when we checked.
- Where do founders work in Melbourne?
- Most coworking sits in the CBD and inner suburbs: The Commons, Hub Australia, WeWork, The Cluster and Stone & Chalk in or near the CBD, and Inspire9 in Richmond. Day passes checked on 26 Oct 2026 run from A$50 (The Cluster) to A$69 excluding GST (Hub Australia).
- Where can I meet other founders in Melbourne?
- Start with Stone & Chalk's monthly Founders Unfiltered fireside chats, The Startup Network's pitch nights at The Commons QV, the AI Ops Melbourne meetup on the first Wednesday of every month and the Friday startup mixers at the Duke of Wellington. All had events listed when checked on 26 Oct 2026.
- When do you become an Australian tax resident?
- Under section 6 of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936, a person is resident if they reside in Australia, and the definition also covers people whose domicile is in Australia and people who've been in Australia for more than one-half of the year of income, each with exceptions. The ATO explains the tests on its residency pages, which we couldn't load when we checked, so confirm with the ATO or an adviser.
Sources
- Business and investor visas, NSW Government (Investment NSW). Checked 27 October 2026.
- National Innovation Visa: common questions, NSW Government. Checked 27 October 2026.
- National Innovation Visa (subclass 858), Government of South Australia (Migration SA). Checked 27 October 2026.
- Australia visa and entry requirements FAQs, Tourism Australia. Checked 27 October 2026.
- Income Tax Assessment Act 1936, compilation of 1 October 2026, Federal Register of Legislation. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Register for an Australian Business Number (ABN), business.gov.au. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Moving to Australia, Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Book a day pass, Hub Australia. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Coworking day pass Melbourne, Inspire9. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Membership, The Cluster. Checked 26 October 2026.
- On-Demand membership, The Commons. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Coworking space in Melbourne, WeWork. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Melbourne Startup Hub, Stone & Chalk. Checked 26 October 2026.
- Founders Unfiltered: Dawid Naude, Luma (Stone & Chalk). Checked 26 October 2026.
- The Startup Network, Meetup. Checked 26 October 2026.
- AIO-008: A Rogue AI Agent Walks Into an Open Bar, Luma (AI Ops, Melbourne Meetup). Checked 26 October 2026.
- Cost of living in Melbourne, Numbeo (crowd-sourced). Checked 26 October 2026.
- Time in Melbourne, Australia, Worldometers. Checked 26 October 2026.
Related guides
- Digital nomad visas for founders: which ones let you run your own company (2026)
Digital nomad visa for founders: nine visas compared on income rules, running your own company, local clients, business-owner income proof and tax residency.
- Startup visas for founders: 10 schemes compared from official sources (2026)
Startup visa for founders: UK, France, Netherlands, Portugal, Japan, Singapore, Estonia, Ireland, Denmark and Canada compared on backing, money and residency.
- Tax residency for remote founders: how the rules work (2026)
Tax residency for remote founders: how Australia, the UK, the US and Canada test it, treaty tie-breakers, where your company is resident, and records to keep.
- Wise vs Payoneer vs Revolut vs Airwallex for founders: getting paid from abroad (2026)
Wise vs Payoneer vs Revolut vs Airwallex for founders: who can open each, fees from their own pages, a worked US$5,000 invoice and the W-8BEN explained.
- Communities for remote founders: 17 options compared (2026)
Communities for remote founders compared: price, vetting and format of 17 options, free to US$2,470 in dues, plus how to get value in 30 days.
- How to manage a remote team across time zones (2026)
How to manage a remote team across time zones: how much overlap you need, worked UTC examples, async defaults, fair meetings, always-on limits and handoffs.
Meet other remote builders
- Join Remote Builders
Free. Once you're in, we'll hand you straight to the members' chat on Telegram to say hello.
- Come to the next event
See what's on next and save your spot.
- Browse the member directory
Businesses run by members, each with a profile page. Members can add theirs.
- Find a city chapter
Monthly nights for members in person, and how to host one in your city.